CBSL reorganizes the consultation process for external experts

  • Establishes a Stakeholder Engagement Committee replacing the Monetary Policy Advisory Committee and the Financial System Stability Advisory Committee

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL), in an effort to broaden its engagement with key stakeholders in the economy, has established the Stakeholder Engagement Committee (SEC) to replace the Monetary Policy Advisory Committee (MPCC ) and the Financial System Stability Advisory Committee (FSSCC) of the CBSL which were in operation before.

The SEC is chaired by Professor of Economics in the Economics Department of the University of Colombo, Professor Sirimal Abeyratne, and includes the following 17 eminent persons from the private sector and academia as members.

The main role of this high-level advisory committee is to represent the views and sentiments of the private sector and academia on economic conditions and prospects, given overall economic development, particularly in the monetary and financial sectors. economy.

In addition, the SEC is expected to provide feedback from the perspective of economic stakeholders on the policy actions taken by the CBSL, allowing it to make informed policy decisions in a more consultative manner. The inaugural meeting of the SEC was held on August 10 at the premises of the CBSL with the participation of the Governor of the CBSL, Dr. P. Nandalal Weerasinghe, and the senior officers of the CBSL.

Other members of the committee are the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Banking Association, Kapila P. Ariyaratne, the Chairman of the Association of Financial Houses of Sri Lanka, Rohan Tennakoon, the Chairman of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka, Sanjaya Bandara, the President of the Institute of Chartered Management Accountants of Sri Lanka, Prof. Lakshman R. Watawala, Chairman, Sri Lanka Association of Software Services Companies Ashique M. Ali, CEO, Brandix Lanka Ashroff Omar, Managing Director, Access Engineering PLC Christopher Joshua, Chief Financial Officer, Stassen Group of Companies Dhamitha Cooke, Chairman of Advocata Institute Murtaza Jafferjee, University of Colombo Department of Economics Lecturer Priyanga Dunusinghe, Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority Chairman Priantha Fernando, Bairaha Farms PLC Non-Executive Chairman Reyaz Mihular, DFCC Bank former CEO Lakshman Silva, Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Past Chairman Rajendra Theagarajah, Senior Research Associate Dr. Ganeshan Wignaraja, Center for An Anushka Wijesinha, Economist and Co-Founder of Smart Future, and Rohan Masakorala, Founder of Shippers’ Academy Colombo Ltd.

Shirlene J. Manley